Additional Resources/References - Mild General Learning Disability

National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NCCA) (2007), Guidelines for Teachers of Students with General Learning Disabilities.

For NCCA Guidelines related to some specific subject areas, please click here -

National Council for Curriculum and Assessment (NCCA) (2015), Junior Cycle Framework- Priority Learning Units, Level 2

This programme is based on Priority Learning Units (PLUs) which targets students with general learning difficulties in the higher functioning moderate and low functioning mild categories. 

The PLUs focus on developing the student’s basic social, pre-vocational and life skills. There are five PLUs:

  • Communicating and literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Personal care
  • Living in a community
  • Preparing for work.

For Guidelines and specification for L2LPs, please click here-