Primary Language Curriculum


Primary Language CurriculumThis curriculum is for teachers of children in junior and senior infants and in first and second class. It applies in all school contexts—English-medium schools, Gaeltacht schools, Irish-medium schools and special schools. The curriculum for junior and senior infants is aligned with the principles and methodologies of Aistear: the Early Childhood Curriculum Framework

Special Education Support Service (SESS) is continuing its professional development programme for the Primary Language Curriculum/Curaclam Teanga na Bunscoile.  A two hour introductory session took place last year followed by a full day introductory seminar for principals and one other teacher from special schools which was co-facilitated by PDST and SESS.

Whole-school professional development for The Primary Language Curriculum will be provided to special schools by the SESS during the school year 2016-2017. This will comprise of a full day seminar for which school closure has been sanctioned. Schools will be contacted in due course with respect to the date of their seminar.

The NCSE Support Service has prepared a handbook on implementing the Primary Language Curriculum which is available to download.

NCSE Implementing the Primary Language Curriculum

NCSE Support Service Implementing the Primary Language Curriculum






Planning Templates [SESS Word Versions]

      Useful Links

    NCCA Research Reports